I made treat gifts for our holiday family gathering this year.
image

Most years I do a pretty varied assortment of cookies and candy. I have some tried and true recipes I have made for years. Most every year I try to do something new.

This year’s gifts offered (Presented clockwise from the top left)  :

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies- My Blog post with that recipe is on this link  http://wp.me/p6BnLk-4N

‘Salted Chocolate Caramel Cookies’, a recipe I got from Pinterest.

Strawberry “Fruit Magic”. Basically, it is some homemade strawberry jam, applesauce and cinnamon, then dehydrated into a fruit roll-up.

Dry Rub Beef Jerky, My favorite way to make beef jerky and another gift from the dehydrator.

Pistachio Bars- This is one of the old standbys and the most requested of the Holiday cookies. I will share this recipe in the next post.

Rounding out the boxes were Frosted Molasses Cookies, a childhood favorite of mine, and the subject of today’s recipe. They have a great molasses flavor, and a chewy texture. The frosting is a sweet vanilla glaze, that really is a great compliment to the spicy cookie.

FROSTED MOLASSES COOKIES

Ingredients:
1-1/2 cups butter, softened
2 cups sugar
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup molasses
4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon cloves
Frosting:
1-1/2 cup powdered sugar
3 tablespoons butter,  softened
1 tablespoon vanilla
1-2 tablespoons milk

Procedure:
image

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar
image

Add eggs and molasses, and mix throughly
image

Combine dry ingredients, and blend into the wet mixure.
image

On a greased baking sheet,  or one lined in parchment paper (as above),  roll dough into balls about the size of walnuts.  I like bigger cookies, so I went with a little more cookie dough.
image

Bake cookies for 10-12 minutes in an oven preheated to 350°F.
image

Meanwhile mix together all frosting ingredients  and beat until smooth and creamy.
image

Remove baked cookies from oven to racks to cool. Frost while warm. I like to let my frosted  cookies air dry for a few hours. It helps to harden the frosting enough to not be sticky and hold its shape when touched gently.  I then stored in airtight bags until ready to use.

Yeild: 2-3 dozen

These cookies always remind me of family time from my childhood. Not so much holidays as fishing trips with my father, when i usually would get them as a snack on the boat. Good times, though.
These cookies do have that combination of spices that smell so warm and wonderful coming from the oven, this time of year. It put me in the holiday mood  to bake them.

I hope you enjoy them, too.

Posted from WordPress for Android

