“The cookie jar is broken.”, my husband proclaimed from the kitchen. “Can you fix it?”, he quietly asks me as his disappointed gaze rests on the the broken cookie jar.

“Sure”, I answer, unconcerned, surfing Pinterest from the warm spot under my snuggie on the couch. “I’ll get to it today.”

Around my house, a broken cookie jar doesn’t mean the crock met an untimely fate on the kitchen tile, or that, for whatever reason, the jar is no longer usable. It means it is empty and utterly devoid of any snack time goodies, aside from a few crumbs resting as a kind of tease at the bottom.  When the jar is broken, my husband calls in the professional, I.E. Me, to come to the rescue and fix it.

image

So, today I will share with you one of the ways I fix a broken cookie jar, fall-style, with some Apple Crumble Cookies.

Apples are one of my favorite fruits. I use them in my cooking, baking and desserts, along with fresh eating with some cheese and crackers. I have a glut of apples in my kitchen right now, especially dried apple slices. I decided to go with those and bake up some Apple Crumble Cookies.

image

These taste just like freshly baked Apple Crumble, hence the name. They come together very quickly, which is a good thing. Before you know it you will have people circling the oven, waiting for a taste of that lovely apples and cinnamon concoction that is  wafting its tempting aroma all over the house.

Apple Crumble Cookies
Ingredients :
1 cup butter, softened
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
3 cups old-fashioned oats
3/4 cup chopped, dried apples
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preparation:
In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugars. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Combine the flour, cinnamon,  and baking soda;  gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well. Fold in oats, apples and pecans.
Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased baking aheets. Bake at 350°F for 10-12 minutes. Let stand on the sheets for 1 minute before removing onto wire racks to cool completely.  Enjoy!

Makes about 4 dozen

There you have it! The broken cookie jar is fixed in a very delicious way. Enjoy these sweet treats with a glass of milk, or beverage of your choice  (I don’t judge), or with some ice cream! They are a real pleaser of a cookie.

image

Until the cookie jar breaks again…

Posted from WordPress for Android

